J. Allen Johnson CCIM
James K. Trask CCIM
Tina Egsegian Yap
Leil Koch CCIM Trust
Hawaii Chapter Named Endowed Scholarships
Program Guidelines


Scholarship Application


The J. Allen Johnson CCIM and James K. Trask CCIM Scholarship honors J. Allen Johnson CCIM and James K. Trask CCIM as Founding Members of the Hawaii CCIM Chapter and as the only Hawaii National CCIM Instructors.  They are honored for their dedication, commitment, outstanding achievement and service in the commercial real estate and investment area.  The Tina Egsegian Yap Scholarships honors the Chapter’s longtime administrator for her dedication to the chapter and the community.  The Leil Koch Trust Scholarship honors long time member, Chapter President and 2012 CCIM Institute President for his dedication to not only the Hawaii CCIM Chapter but the CCIM Institute as well.

The Hawaii Chapter committed to fund these scholarship funds by contributing $12,500.00 each to the CCIM Foundation.   The CCIM Foundation matched the remaining $12,500.00 for a total $25,000 scholarship fund.  Scholarship awards shall be in the amount of $1,000 each annually.

Scholarship Purpose

The purpose of the scholarships is to assist Hawaii CCIM candidates by offsetting the cost of CI core classes, offered by the Hawaii Chapter. 

About the CCIM Foundation

The CCIM Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.  The Mission of the CCIM Foundation is to advance and foster commercial real estate education through scholarships, programs and initiatives. 

About the CCIM Institute

CCIM (the CCIM Institute), an affiliate of the National Association of Realtors, is an organization of accomplished real estate practitioners who are committed to providing the finest in commercial investment real estate education.  CCIM awards the CCIM designation to individuals who complete a prescribed series of graduate level courses in advanced concepts and techniques in commercial real estate.  The CCIM designation, in existence since 1968, is the mark of a true professional in the commercial investment field.

About the Hawaii CCIM Chapter

The Hawaii CCIM Chapter was founded in 1975 to further enhance the education and professionalism of the commercial real estate practitioners in Hawaii.  The Mission of the Hawaii CCIM Chapter is “to provide the best commercial and investment real estate education and services which afford members a unique competitive advantage in the marketplace, and recognition of the designation as the hallmark of competence, integrity and professionalism in the industry”.

Albert S. P. Wong Hawaii CCIM Chapter 101 Scholarship


Scholarship Application

Albert S. P. Wong, CCIM, CIPS Palace Realty Honolulu:  “Al” Wong has specialized in real estate counseling for 42 years with clients in China , Taiwan , the U.S. mainland, and Hawaii . He earned the CCIM designation in 1973 and is a lifetime institute member. His past institute involvement includes chairing designation promotion, marketing, international coordinating, and bylaws committees and serving as the Hawaii chapter president. He was also a director of the Institute's Education Foundation. In 2004, Wong met with the members of the Beijing and Shanghai chapters to network and create new investment opportunities.  He received a Lifetime Achievement Award from CCIM in 2000..  Al retired in 2014.

The CCIM designation is the PhD of commercial real estate and is the gateway course of the CCIM Designation Program.  “CI 101: Financial Analysis for Commercial Investment Real Estate” is the first course in a series of courses to obtain the prestigious CCIM designation.  This course will give students a thorough understanding of financial analysis tools, concepts and calculations to make sound decision involving commercial real estate.   It covers cash flow models, time value of money concepts, finance programs, loan terms and variables, appraisal methods, measurement of investment value and performance, and taxation issues.

The Hawaii CCIM Chapter will award two (2) $500 scholarships to deserving individuals to be used towards the CI101 class held in Hawaii.  The scholarship is on a reimbursement basis.  You must complete the class to receive the reimbursement.

Interested applicants must complete a scholarship application.  Deadline for entries is March 31, 2021.